Passport to Japan

Passport to Japan

The Japanese are well known for their expertise in architecture, style and design. The exterior designs that exist today, have existed for centuries. Various types of rattan, bamboo and cypress are frequently used as the fundamental materials in building not only the outside of the homes, but the interior as well. It is common to see thatched roofs and complex wood designs reminiscent of sixth century Japan, as well as modern takes incorporated in to these styles. Japanese design is unique to all others; it incorporates serial religious aesthetics (Buddhism, Zen, and Taoism) and also incorporates specific traditional colors which historically indicated social class and tier. The Twelve Level Cap and Rank System were developed by Price Shotoku, a Buddhist, in the year 603. He based the colors on the five classical Chinese Elements which are Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal and Water. While the traditional colors are used quite frequently, they are no longer indicators of social class. In conjunction with these colors, the elements are almost always incorporated into design. It is thought that these elements can be used to identify different theories, practices, deities, holy places, texts, seasons – etc. Drawing inspiration from the five elements, traditional color and design, as well as staples in the Japanese home – I have selected a few items you might find appealing if you’re looking to incorporate a Zen feel in your home! Sayonara, until next time!

Wood: Tomahawk Bench

Fire: Asia Series Fire Pit

Earth: Peanut Planter

Metal: Buddha

Water: Falling Fountain

About Christina

Leave a Reply

Scroll To Top